Pop Tarts

I love Pop Tarts. I love a lot of junk food, actually. But I am trying to be better about what we eat, including avoiding processed crap that is full of corn syrup and preservatives. I bet I’m still digesting the chemicals from the Pop Tarts I ate as a kid. But enough of that sermon. My continuing obsession with Smitten Kitchen resulted in finding this recipe for homemade Pop Tarts last week, so the weekend seemed the perfect opportunity to try it out.

It starts with making the dough, which includes this. I’ve got you now, huh?

Basically, you make the dough, cut it into squares and then plop fillings down and sandwich the layers together, ravioli style. Super easy, although I made the dough in advance because it requires some “inactive” cooking time for the dough to rest. We used strawberry jam and Nutella,  because, well hello, it’s Nutella!

They baked for about 25 minutes and were perfectly flaky and crumbly. I made a quick icing with confectioner’s sugar and drizzled on top. Infinitely better than those day-glo colored things in the vending machine.

2 thoughts on “Pop Tarts

Leave a Reply

