Father Knows Best?

When I asked Andrew what he wanted for a special Father’s Day dessert, I wasn’t surprised when he said white cake with white icing. When it comes to sweets, he’s a vanilla kind of guy. I don’t get it. If it’s not chocolate, it’s not dessert to me. But it wasn’t all bad, because I recently saw this cool Sprite Cake on Bakerella. It starts with a box mix, which is suspicious, but I had faith.

It calls for adding a box of instant pudding along with 8 ounces of Sprite. Weird, but it really does make a delicious cake. It was very moist and light. We mixed it up and popped into the oven for 30 minutes…

 …during which time I whipped up a batch of buttercream frosting, also from Bakerella. I frosted the cake and stood back to admire my handiwork. I got out some stuff to write Happy Father’s Day on it, when Andrew insisted that that was way too cliche for his cake. And since it was HIS day he got to pick what I wrote:

Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

