Getting it Together

Indulge me, as this post is bit of a non sequitur. With a 2-year-old, (fairly large) dog and a dining room that doubles as sewing room, my house is a mess. Most of the time it looks like someone picked it up, turned it over and shook it a little bit, and then set it back down. It doesn’t bother me that much, mostly because I would always rather spend time with my family than spend that time cleaning. I’m also not going to forgo doing things I want, e.g., sewing, to clean the house.

I saw an Oprah episode once that reminded parents that children won’t remember whether your closets were organized. They will remember the time you all spent together. So there are many times when I go to bed with dishes in the sink, and the floor in our bedroom is rarely free of dirty clothes. My DH couldn’t care less, and we have an ongoing “discussion” that I have to admit comes out in his favor: why should he expected to maintain a level of cleanliness that he feels is excessive since that is not of value to him?

All that is to say though, that sometimes it is a bit much. I mean, there is messy and there is dirty. So I have decided to embark on a straightening/cleaning routine that will let me do a little bit each day instead of feeling as if I have to do everything at once. That makes anything feel insurmountable. Our house is so small, even a little mess can make it look like a tornado came through.

Do you have any tips or ideas on this front? Do you have a regular routine? I am thinking of devoting one day a week to a specific room.

On another note, I just saw this amazing list published by Time magazine of the top 100 novels (well, since 1923). I don’t remember the last book I read, but I think it was David Sedaris’ When You are Engulfed in Flames, and that was published in 2008. So I am embarking on a mission to read them all (or at least the 84 I’ve not read). I’m not excited about The Lord of the Rings, but I am keeping an open mind.

P.S. Ha ha, just saw that I am not the only one having this crisis of home identity.

One thought on “Getting it Together

  1. I don't have a regular routine, but I do know that I keep the downstairs area cleaner than upstairs b/c that is where guests come. I try to invite guests to our home once a month so that will give me the motivation to do a good cleaning. I also seem to have a level of mess that I can tolerate and much beyond that, I have to clean it.

Leave a Reply

