Living Dangerously

After much reassurance from friends and family, I decided to go out on a limb and leave my Crock Pot running yesterday while I was at work. I have only ever used it in the evenings or on weekends because something about turning on a heating element and leaving was too disconcerting. I realize that is what the durn thing was made for, so I figured I would face my fears since thousands of people have been doing this for, what, decades  now?

Definitely the way to go. I put a pork butt in there yesterday morning with barbecue sauce and when we got home it was perfect. I used Fox Bros.’ sauce, which was good, but not my favorite. I am no barbecue connoisseur; I like mine sweet and ketchupy.  I will just make my own next time.

 
I thought fries would be a quick side so I found this recipe for Southwestern Spiced Sweet Potato Fries with Chili-Cilantro Sour Cream at food52. They have just the right amount of spice, and the sour cream dip is awesome. Who doesn’t like sour cream, right? My daughter, that’s who. She tasted some and instantly declared it “yucky,” which she also did with her fajita earlier this week. Sigh. Sometimes I don’t know where she came from.

So most of Turtle’s dinner consisted of peaches, which I had halved, brushed with butter, sprinkled with brown sugar and put on the grill pan for a minute. I also added some honey for good measure. (Do you know it’s really hard to get a good picture of peaches? At least the inside of one. They tasted much better than they look here.)

As an aside, food52 has a great wine column, and this week they’ve been running a special series about How to Pick a Good Wine for Under $15. Definitely worth reading.

Leave a Reply

