Chicken Parmigiana

I’m hosting a baby shower this weekend, so when I was thinking about the week’s dinner menu, I figured I would be easy on myself and stick to the basics. When you have to go from Clean House to Divine Design in a week, there’s not much room for recipe experimentation. So when I found this chicken parmigiana recipe by Tyler Florence, it seemed like just the thing.

It calls for canned tomatoes, which I know is a sin in Georgia in August. But as I said, we’re being honest about our commitment this week. I also left out the onion so I didn’t have to chop it.

I opted for chicken cutlets so they would take less time to cook. The breading is awesome – bread crumbs and seasonings with parmesan cheese (purchased pre-shredded, which usually makes me cringe because of the coating they put on it, but if you get it from Whole Foods it’s okay, right?!) I didn’t have spaghetti but I had a box of mostaciolli so I used that instead.

The fresh mozzarella was the real kicker. I am sad to say that I don’t think my Turtle shares my complete and unwavering love for all cheeses. She picked hers off, called it “pizza” and put it aside. She loves pizza so I don’t know why she didn’t like it, but it was pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

