Adaptation

For my next installment of projects from happy homemade, vol. 2, I tried out style J, a sleeveless dress with a v-neck and gathers at the front. The original design uses a decorative trim around the edge, and I bought a very cute yellow ric-rac to use. But once I put it up against the finished dress, it looked a little too circusy against the purple. So I just used bias trim instead.

The bias trim doubles as a back closure.

I think it turned out really great, except for a slight pucker at the front, in the “v,” I think because I made my bias trim too wide. So the v-neck is more of a boat neck, which is fine, but I would have liked it to be crisper.

Turtle was in a crazy mood, and not inclined to stand still for pictures. I made it on the big side so it will last through fall and winter with a cardigan and tights.

Leave a Reply

