Leggings Bonanza

I bought a leggings pattern last winter that turned out to be one of those things that is simply not worth the effort. These leggings are super cute, but I just don’t want to spend an hour on a pair of stretchy pants. After all, Target, Old Navy, etc. sell these kind of things for like $5. But, I also knew that leggings were something I should be making myself, because they can be so simply constructed. There had to be a better way.

Enter the perfect Lil Leggings pattern from Lil Blue Boo. Two pieces of fabric for the legs, one piece for the waistband. I made three pairs in under an hour using knit scraps from my stash. Total cost for each pair was probably less than $2.

The best thing about this design is that there is no elastic. Having been an (enormously huge) pregnant woman, I appreciate elastic as much as the next person, but I hate having to feed it through the little channel all the way around a waistband.

I also made a black pair, which Turtle wore yesterday. These are so useful for this kind of weather – cool in the mornings but still warm later in the day. Plus, there is something about her in a long T-shirt and leggings that I love, love, love.

They are the best wardrobe choice for exploring the urban jungle,

getting some exercise,

or for general merriment.

Leave a Reply

