Finishing Touches

Well, I’ve managed to get names embroidered onto three of our four stockings. Mine, of course, is still pending.

I started with the dog’s, per my theory on practice-makes-perfect. I used too many strands of floss, which made for a hard time getting that needle in and out. But I think it still looks good.

I learned my lesson with the next one, and life got much easier. I have embroidered outlines plenty of times, but have never done this kind of satin stitching to make it “solid.” I don’t mind telling you that there is a reason they invented machines to do this. Hopefully someone, someday will appreciate the work I put into it.

I am still trying to think of a creative way to hang them, considering we don’t have a mantle. Right now they are tacked onto the sides of a doorway, which is fine, but I think we could use something a little jollier. Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Finishing Touches

  1. I've seen things you can buy that are floor stands that are metal/iron looking. They look nice. Not sure if you were looking for some way to do it without spending money.

  2. I appreciate your hard work! It's also the reason I have a machine to do these things for me. I am toying with the idea of learning hand embroidery next year, though.

Leave a Reply

