On a Roll

For the first several years I was at my job I struggled to come up with appropriate holiday gifts for co-workers. I finally realized I was overlooking the reason everyone loves this time of year: food. Last year I made Ina Garten’s Outrageous Brownies, which are seriously the most amazing brownies you will ever eat. Fortunately that recipe actually manages to skip the pedantic tone and condescending instructions to use “good” this and “high quality” that.

I’ve needed a reason to try Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls since I first discovered her earlier this year (yes, I was late to the party). This seemed like as good a time as any. The recipe makes, like, 50 cinnamon rolls, so it required some strategic maneuvering in my minute kitchen.

Half the dough, rolled out and ready for “filling”

After rolling comes the melted butter. One cup of it to be exact. On top of that is sprinkled a cup of sugar, then a generous dose of ground cinnamon. That’s for EACH half of the dough.
  The unholy goodness of melted butter oozes onto the counter
This dripping, sugary mess gets rolled up and cut into pieces. I stumbled on these perfect paper loaf pans at Cook’s Warehouse earlier this week. Aren’t they cute?
 Time for a third and final rise
 30 minutes later, ready for the oven

After 15 minutes in the oven, comes the icing. The recipe calls for maple flavoring, which my grocery store didn’t have, so I used vanilla per Pioneer Woman’s FAQ update posted a couple of months ago.
 Sugary goodness
I would have preferred much more icing. I expected the rolls to be swimming in it, but instead mine got a reserved drizzling. Oh well. They have enough sugar to induce a diabetic coma without the icing anyway.
 The final product
My kitchen runneth over
 I’m not sure, but I think these will go over pretty well with the co-workers. I hope no one’s on a diet.
One thought on “On a Roll

Leave a Reply

