Big Plans

I think my internal dialogue today is pretty typical of my tendency to make grand plans that can never possibly be executed. I am working hard to get projects at work finished, but thinking of next week when I will be taking a much-need staycation at home with my Turtle. I want to make her a spring wardrobe collection.

First of all, as if being at home with a 2-year-old means I will have unlimited sewing time. I mean, I could sit at the machine for a couple of hours, but that would mean scraping Fig Newtons out of the carpet, finding dog food in odd places and fishing random items out of the toilet. Not to mention that’s just not very nice to do to a busy, inquisitive child.

Secondly, that’s a lot of clothes. I don’t know about yours, but my kid doesn’t wear anything without getting it dirty. Especially considering that most of her days at school consist of at least one art activity, oftentimes including things like food-coloring-dyed shaving cream. (This is not a good idea. The cons outweigh the pros, trust me.) So this means her wardrobe needs to be fully stocked so that we have plenty of things to wear between trips to the laundry.

Nevertheless, this is my goal for the next few months. (I’m crazy, but not crazy enough to think I can do this in one week.) I know there will be plenty of staples that I can’t/won’t make by hand. For instance, I depleted my stretch knit stash, so considering leggings are $4 at Target, I’m not going out of my way to purchase more knit and make them myself. These are the things I want to do, and yes, they are all Oliver + S designs. They are simply the best patterns and I have yet to find another designer creating such beautiful things with such clear instruction.

  • Jump Rope Dress in long- and short-sleeved versions
  • Birthday Party Dress – I have read that this one is a challenge so I’m looking forward to trying it.
  • School Photo Dress – I think I will make a version with the ruffled collar and one with the rolled collar, because ruffled seems pretty fancy.
Image by Oliver+S
  • Hopscotch Top and Skirt – I want to make several of these shirts since I think if they are made up in a nice solid or simple pattern, they could go with anything.
  • Sunday Brunch Jacket and Skirt – I’ve never made a jacket and I think this would be darling in a lightweight fabric for cool spring mornings.
Image by Oliver+S
So there you have it. I guess this could be considered a New Year’s Resolution, but I won’t call it that since 99.9% of those resolutions are quickly broken. Wish me luck!
One thought on “Big Plans

  1. Oh I just LOVE Oliver and S clothes. I have a finished musicbox dress on my blog right now! How lucky is Turtle that she will have all those O&S outfits!I tend to send my 2 yr old to school in knit clothing from Kohls or Target. It's cheap, comfy, and it's cool for her to get really messy. But I still LOVE to put her in sweet mommymade outfits.My next project is the school photo dress — I have read it is a bit time-consuming and a bit of a challenge. If you have any tips as you make yours, pass them on please!

Leave a Reply

