My New Best Friend

It’s a whole new world at the creative pursuits clothing factory. My parents gifted me with a serger! It’s a Brother 1034D and it … is … awesome.

It’s a middle-of-the-road model, and doesn’t have a lot of the bells and whistles that the more expensive models do. But no matter, because this is complicated enough. These are the pages (yes, multiple pages) that explain how to thread one of the four threads. Apparently this is called an upperlooper. 
And these are dials to adjust the stitch length. Or something.
I tried it out on some scraps and I can’t wait to use it on all the projects I have planned, including linen napkins with rolled hems. Of course, until I learn the ins and outs of this thing, I’m leaving the multicolored threads in since the instructions are color coded. I think it adds a certain “je ne sais quoi.” Okay, not really, but it’s on the inside and no one will know.
One thought on “My New Best Friend

Leave a Reply

