Snowbound

We were slammed by a winter storm Sunday night that quite literally brought the city to a standstill. My office was closed Monday and Tuesday, and unfortunately for me, Turtle’s idea of playing in the snow was having me carry her. Not my idea of a good time. So that meant that for more than two days, we were “trapped” inside.

Don’t get me wrong, I was glad not to be at work. But by yesterday afternoon, I was getting a little “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” What to do? Let’s bake.

There are two chocolate chip cookie recipes in my New York Times cookbook, and the second required chilling the dough for two days. Um, I don’t think so. So these are the other option: Amanda Hesser’s Flat-and-Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Her notes say that she got lots of angry e-mails when this recipe was first published in 2006 because of the amount of salt. Apparently some brands are saltier than others. Fortunately, I had the right kind, Diamond Crystal kosher. These require a whole (scant) tablespoon.

Luckily for me I had someone on hand to clean the beater and other equipment.

And Ms. Hesser wasn’t kidding when she named these “flat-and-chewy.” To wit:

Before baking
After baking

There was an odd man out who didn’t fit on the sheet. Never ones to waste, we were forced to eat him.

I like cookies really chewy – I mean, basically raw. So when I make these again I’ll take them out earlier.

I took the leftovers to work today and was met in the break room by a batch of sugar cookies that had already been dropped off. Guess I wasn’t the only one with cabin fever.

Leave a Reply

