Mermaid Pouches

I am not ashamed to admit that this project was driven solely by the fact that I had to have some of this fabric. I was in the store for a completely different reason, but when I saw it I just had to have it. I bought half a yard with no idea what I was going to do with it.

But I quickly remembered that I have a baby shower next weekend, and I thought a nice little box pouch for baby knick-knacks would be a super cute addition to my gift.

So, can you blame me?! I usually don’t go for cutesy, but I mean, look at her! The fabric is called November Books Little Mermaid, from Push Pin by Kokka.

I have made box pouches in the past, but I recently read about this tutorial from It’s a Pretty Modern Life on the Whipstitch blog.  This one is fully lined, so you don’t see the raw edges like you do in the ones I’ve made before.

These also have cute little pull tabs at each end, to make working the zipper easier.

As you can see, I made two. I think I will give the other to my niece as part of her birthday present. Maybe fill it with lip gloss, barrettes and such. I still have about a quarter yard left and I want to make something for myself. I already have three zippered pouches of varying sizes in my purse though. It’s  organization to the point of disorganization; my husband gets infuriated any time I ask him to get something out of there for me.

So, what to do? How can I keep this little mermaid in my life?

2 thoughts on “Mermaid Pouches

  1. Oh they are adorable!I just bought some paper doll patterned fabric with the same mindset, too cute but no idea what to make. This is a PERFECT idea. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

