Making Progress

I know it doesn’t look like much, but things are coming along on the flower girl dresses. I am awaiting receipt of the green silk for the ties, and since attaching those is something like the second step in construction, I’ve tried to do everything else that is independent of that step.

I’ve attached the plackets to the back pieces, put the bodice facing together and finished its edge and put the hem facing together.

Wow, what must it be like to work with silk like this on a daily basis? It is both wonderful and terrifying. Cutting into something that costs $25 a yard is no joke.

I snagged these incredible vintage buttons and am so excited to see them on the finished product. They are just perfect.

I hope that my Little Things to Sew book arrives soon – it has a lovely little hooded cape (pictured on the cover) that I think would be adorable for keeping off the early spring chill at the wedding. I am envisioning a cream colored wool with a silky lining.

So, hopefully the remaining fabric will be waiting in my mailbox this afternoon and I will be able to finish these up this weekend.

One thought on “Making Progress

Leave a Reply

