Valentine Preview

I have had Purl Bee’s Valentine Heart Barrettes on my to-do list since I saw the blog post a few weeks ago. But then I saw Delilah’s Momma’s Felt Flower Hairclips and thought those were much prettier. I made my niece a little zipper pouch for her birthday and needed something to put in it, plus I thought these would be cute for Valentine’s Day – decision made. I actually went back to Purl Bee’s original Rose Barrette design for mine, since I liked that they were big. I am SO not into big bows on baby heads, but these won me over.

They were super easy (and cheap) to make. Tracing and cutting out the pieces was the hardest part.

I immediately had visions of adding them to a natural colored linen pillow, or cascading down the side of a poufy skirt.

I made enough to keep some for Turtle, and she was actually happy to wear one. She is only “into” certain hairbows – to my horror, her choices are usually large polka-dotted bows. I also made some of the heart shapes, and although they are cute, they just don’t have the drama of the flowers.

The birthday girl sported one at her party Saturday. The party was Olivia themed, so the pink and red was a perfect match.

Now that I know how simple these are to put together, maybe I can think up more shapes that Turtle will like and that will make her forget about those bows…

2 thoughts on “Valentine Preview

Leave a Reply

