Skirts, Skirts, Skirts

I have had two yards of corduroy (one hot pink, one purple) burning a hole in my fabric stash for weeks now and finally got around to turning at least one of them into a Hopscotch skirt.

This project was one of those where absolutely nothing goes right. The biggest of my “doh” moments was when I attached BOTH front panels to the wrong side of the back panel. I mean, how does a person accidentally sew to the wrong side of corduroy?! And to do it TWICE. Argh. Instead of picking the seams out (I had already serged them … yeah, I’m that dense), I just cut them out and started over. I made up the size difference with the elastic in the back, and it turned out fine.

My favorite part of the skirt are the Chinese takeout pockets. Reading the instructions was intimidating, but it is just one of those things you have to do instead of read about. They are not difficult at all.

While I was at it, I also turned these two chunks of scraps into Lazy Days skirts. If the one in the back looks odd, it’s because it doesn’t have elastic in the waist yet. I ran out.

I am in love with that brown ribbon. And because I was worn out from the Hopscotch debacle, I left the brown thread in for the other skirt too, and will just pass it off as a “design choice.”

4 thoughts on “Skirts, Skirts, Skirts

Leave a Reply

