Seeing it Through

After a disaster of epic proportions when starting this dress last week, I persevered and started over. I am so very glad I did, because this dress is beautiful, if I do say so myself.

I was enamored with the School Photo Dress from the beginning, but seeing April’s version in the Flickr pool really sold me. I loved the contrasting collar and cuffs, and the sophisticated palette. Since I was making this for springtime, I figured that wool wouldn’t be a good choice, but I still wanted to stay in that color ballpark.

I chose some dove gray cotton and a fantastic Alexander Henry print for contrast. I had seen this lawn in the store several times, but was never sold on it as a “main” fabric. It’s perfect as an accent, I think.

I am a sucker for a ruffled collar, and I love this one even more than last year’s, because it’s not too tall.

The details of this pattern are what makes it so special, I think. Like the subtly gathered sleeves with contrast binding.

The kangaroo pocket in front is also genius. This was definitely an “involved” garment, but it was well worth it. I think it looks modern and classic at the same time. It is fully lined, with an invisible zipper in back. Turtle will wear it for both Easter egg hunting at my in-laws’ and to the wedding rehearsal dinner, which is NEXT WEEK. We are all so excited. She keeps forgetting the word “aisle,” and will ask me, “What I am walking on at Manda’s wedding?”

I wish I could show you some photos of her modeling the dress, but that will have to wait. There is Easter chocolate in our house and I wasn’t going to take the chance.

5 thoughts on “Seeing it Through

Leave a Reply

