"Enchiladas"

If you are of any kind of Latin heritage, you may want to avert your eyes, because the inauthenticity of this dish might be too much to bear. But man, they are tasty. So we’ll just consider them “enchilada-inspired.”

I made enchiladas a while back in the style of our favorite Tex-Mex joint, El Taco. They have a tomatillo sauce, and while I like them, my family does not. So when I saw this recipe on Annie’s Eats, she had me at Ranch dressing.

This would be a very quick meal if you had already-cooked chicken. I started from scratch so that was the most laborious part. I used my grill pan, which I love as it is a life-saver for those of us without real grills. Cleaning it is the worst though. It barely fits in my sink. And I still had to cook the rest of the way in the oven, so that was another dish to clean.

The sauce is just sour cream and Ranch dressing, and you add the shredded chicken to this, top with some cheese and roll up in a tortilla. The original recipe called for salsa as well, but I used taco sauce because I forgot I was out of salsa. Actually, it was quite good this way and when I make these again I’ll do the same thing.

They go into the oven for a few minutes and come out all melty and gooey. Calling them enchiladas is a stretch, but as I said, they are tasty, so just go with it.


To Make:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
8 oz. sour cream, separated
8 oz. Ranch salad dressing, separated
flour tortillas
taco sauce, to taste (I used a whole bottle)
shredded cheese, to taste

Cook chicken, or alternately, use a rotisserie chicken or leftovers. Combine half the sour cream and dressing in one bowl and the other half in another (larger) bowl. Shred the cooked chicken and add to the large bowl. Put a dollop of chicken mixture in the middle of a tortilla and top with taco sauce and cheese to taste. Roll up and put in a greased baking dish. Repeat until you use up all your chicken and/or tortillas. Top the rolled tortillas with taco sauce and cheese as desired and put in a 375-degree oven until cheese is melted and bubbly. Enjoy!
One thought on “"Enchiladas"

Leave a Reply

