I Am All That

Hello friends. Long time, no see. We are back from enjoying a fabulous extended weekend in Charleston, SC, celebrating my middle sister’s wedding, and I gained at least five pounds from all the eating and drinking. I wish I had some photos to show, especially of Turtle and her cousin in their flower girl dresses, but alas, I left my camera in someone’s car and it’s in Greenville, SC until my mom returns with it this weekend. There are also pictures on there of two adorable pairs of Puppet Show Shorts I made before the trip. 


In the meantime, I thought you would enjoy these mostly food and drink-themed highlights from the trip:


Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
The wedding was held here at the waterside, with the reception in the conservatory. Just gorgeous. Duvall Catering provided excellent food, and I don’t mean for a wedding, I mean excellent in any context. The cake was also delicious, and I’m still mad that I didn’t come home with any of it. It was from The Cake Stand.


Muse
DH and I enjoyed a date night here on Saturday. I had the gnocchi in gorgonzola sauce and he had, of course, the shrimp and grits. We tried to get in at Husk, but to no avail.


Magnolia’s
We had a (very) early dinner here when we arrived on Wednesday. Totally recommended for anyone who likes dining, but also has a young child. Of course, we were one of few tables in the restaurant at that hour. We shared blue cheese chips and I had the crab cake. DH had a pork chop served with a very interesting sweet and tangy sort of marmalade. Delish.


Social Wine Bar
We imbibed far too much at this wine bar following the rehearsal dinner. So much so that two members of our party ordered expensive bottles of wine and/or champagne that no one was in any position to appreciate. Even so, this is a great bar with a neat loft area that includes IKEA couches (I know their inventory by heart).


Stella Nova
Us girls had our hair and makeup done at this salon around the corner from our hotel. It’s a beauty product lover’s paradise – two huge rooms of makeup, perfume, hair products and the like. I stumbled onto a perfume by Tocca that I had to have. This is saying A LOT, since the only perfume I’ve worn in at least 10 years is Chanel. I also had airbrush makeup done, which was awesomesauce.


Toast of Charleston
Brunch on Thursday was at this spot on Meeting Street. I wasn’t that hungry and ordered the fruit plate, joking with my family that I hated it when restaurants and grocery stores cut up a ton of honeydew and put it on a plate with one strawberry and consider that a “fruit plate.” Yep, that’s exactly what I got. Turtle however, got a chicken quesadilla that I bogarted and it was very good, much more flavorful than the usual meat-and-cheese fare.


Vendue Inn
The rehearsal dinner was on the rooftop of this hotel and restaurant/bar in the harbor. Amazing views of the city and water. We had a low country boil that was really more like a bouillabaisse in that it was served in a sherry-flavored broth. I ate my weight in shrimp.


Washington Park
We wandered around the city Wednesday and popped into this nice, shady green space for a while. Turtle promptly fell off one of the Civil War monuments and scraped every appendage.


Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe
Yelp has never steered me wrong, and this place is no exception. It’s the definition of a hole in the wall. In fact, it’s in the same building as a gas station. There are only three tables inside and a handful outside, where you can enjoy the “je ne sais qoi” of the gas station parking lot. BUT the food is amazing. I consider myself a connoisseur of biscuits and gravy and this was some of the best I’ve had. Turtle got the French toast, which was made with a croissant.


I told you we ate a lot.


I can’t wait to see the photos from Tim Zielenbach. Take at look at his portfolio.


And in other news, Cindy at Siestas and Sewing gave me this lovely award, which comes with a little questionnaire:

1) What size shoe do you wear?
      7 1/2
2) 30’s or 60’s?
      60’s
3) Have you ever kissed someone you shouldn’t have?
      I don’t think so. My romantic life has always been pretty boring.
4) Have you ever been poisoned? Was it by the girlfriend of the person you kissed?? That is awesomely “Knot’s Landing”.
     Nope
5) Who’s on your “Celebrity Free Pass” list (top 5)?

     Jared Leto
     Jon Hamm
     Leonardo DiCaprio
     James Franco
     Scott Avett (his wife is having a baby like, as we speak, so I feel bad about this one but it’s true)

One thought on “I Am All That

Leave a Reply

