Noodle Obsession, the Next Chapter

As you know, we eat a lot of pasta around here, and I’m always looking for new ways to cook it. As a general rule, I also can’t stand wheat pasta. So when I see a recipe that purports to make wheat noodles taste good, I’m gonna try it.

These are Annie’s Eats Sesame Soba Noodles, and they’re pretty tasty for “health food.” That is to say, I’m not going to have them for my last meal, but for a weeknight dinner they will do just fine.

Take a look at those excellently julienned peppers and carrots. I point this out because my chef’s knife is in dire need of a sharpening, and it’s about to be on par with a butter knife.

The dressing includes some of my very favorite things: soy sauce and rice vinegar. I am a condiment person, so if I make this again I’ll either make more dressing or use fewer noodles. Edamame makes an appearance in this dish as well, and I guess it’s sometimes good to eat these things when they’re NOT coated in salt.

It’s definitely a good looking dish, and generally a crowd pleaser. Turtle eats noodles by bending them in half and starting in the middle. She had a “prom” today at school, which included four donut holes and who knows what else, so I was just glad she ate anything at all for dinner.

Of course she had to keep her tutu on after the prom was over, and added her butterfly headband just for dinner. We think it’s important to look your best for meals.

Leave a Reply

