Happy Mother’s Day!

My DH and my precious Turtle gave me a most wonderful Mother’s Day gift this year: a full 24 hours by myself. I started the day with a walk to the Laundromat, where I washed the collection of fabric I ordered a couple weeks ago from Fat Quarter Shop during their 20 percent off sale. While there I read an actual book. Well, not the whole book, but some of it. Later, I went notions shopping and got some elastic, visited our neighborhood Evos for lunch and finally returned home to spend several hours at the sewing machine. An exciting life, eh?

At Easter, my mother-in-law asked for a gathered clutch to help organize her purse, so that was an easy gift decision. I used the same floral and gray fabrics as I did for Turtle’s Easter dress. I wish I’d gotten more of that floral, I love it.

I filled it with some scraps I hope she can use for quilting. I have such a pile of scraps, but I feel so guilty throwing it away.

And to go with it, I was inspired by the Whipstitch blog to make a fabric-covered card. How cute is that?

Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

