I (Heart) Gowns

Turtle looks so cute in nightgowns, and every time we make a trip to Target I have to restrain myself. I loved gowns as a kid, so I guess it’s just stuck with me. And ever since seeing Sparkle Power’s tutorial on turning vintage T-shirts into gowns many moons ago, I’ve been wanting to make Turtle some cool gowns of her own.

But alas, my last trip to the used clothing store next door resulted in me coming home empty handed. I mean, that Radiohead shirt was pretty awesome, but it was also $14.99. Seriously? For a used T-shirt? I don’t think so. My parents live down the street from an enormous Goodwill, but I just haven’t had the chance to brave it yet (it is PACKED every day of the week). So when DH cleaned out his closet recently, I knew exactly what I needed to do.

Napoleon would be proud, dontcha think? This awesome shirt was bought for a friend’s 80s-themed birthday party last year. Only my husband would go out to find ridiculous clothing and end up looking like the cool kid. This T-shirt went under an amazing green Izod jacket and atop some skinny plaid pants. He looked like he was going to a My Morning Jacket concert, not a costume party. He still wears that jacket, totally without irony.

All I did was place an existing gown on top of the T-shirt and draw around it to create cutting lines. I then serged around the armholes, serged up the sides and added a long scrap as a sort of ruffle at the bottom.

I can’t wait to go scrounging for more shirts.

2 thoughts on “I (Heart) Gowns

  1. I love it! I used to redo old dresses and shirts for my girls when they were little. This one is adorable. Perfect for the hot summer. I'm looking forward to getting to know you in the OMTWI contest. Lisa~

Leave a Reply

