A First

Listen closely, because you might never hear me say this again: I think this recipe has too much cheese. In fact, it’s a little “too much” in general. And yes, I’m feeling just fine.

I saw this on Big Girls Small Kitchen quite a while ago. Of course what jumped out at me was the assertion that it was only 100 calories a serving (obviously an April Fool’s joke). But even with the realization that it wasn’t diet food, I thought it looked pretty good, and last night finally got around to making it.

The ingredients are all very basic pantry staples and it makes a lot of food, so I figured it would leave plenty of leftovers for my lunch the next couple of days. It uses chorizo and boneless, skinless chicken thighs, which is of course a very inexpensive cut of meat. The problem was that both these meats are super greasy and fatty.

The next I make this (and I will make it again because I think it has great potential), I will thoroughly drain and pat dry the sausage and chicken and discard all the pan drippings before moving on to the rest of the “sauce.” I also crumbled my sausage so it would get distributed throughout, so next time I won’t do it that way.

The recipe calls for three cups of shredded cheese on top and though I didn’t even use that much, I thought it was still too cheesy. Maybe my pan was just smaller than theirs so the cheese wasn’t in as thin a layer, but it turned into a gooey slab on top of the casserole that overpowered the other ingredients. I will use maybe a cup next time.

I love a good plate of greasy Southern food as much as the next person, but this was a lot of fat and not a lot of flavor. I think with a few tweaks it could be a winner though.

Leave a Reply

