Simple

We’ve been at the beach for a week enjoying the sand and sun, and I’ve only just begun combing through the hundreds of photos I took. In the meantime, we made this lovely tomato sauce before we left and I thought I would share it. It’s Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce, and I was inspired to make it after some friends shared some of their tomato harvest with us.

This sauce is just about the simplest “recipe” ever invented. It consists of 2 pounds of tomatoes, peeled, an onion, 5 tablespoons of butter and salt to taste. That’s it. Simmer on the stove until the tomatoes are sufficiently mushy and serve. Of course, I have issues and can’t abide chunks of tomato so I pureed mine.

Top with parmesan and you have a simple weeknight meal that is the epitome of Italian cooking: a whole that is much more than the sum of its humble parts.

Leave a Reply

