I’m Sailing Away

(That title is meant to be sung, a la Styx. I can’t hear or read anything about sailing without automatically thinking of it. I think I’ve watched Freaks and Geeks too many times.)

The Sailboat Skirt was one of those that took me a while to fall in love with. I don’t know why, because now that I’ve made it I think it’s darling. I’m quite proud of this skirt too, because I made it work with what I had on hand. There *may* be selvedges caught up in these seam allowances, I’m not sure.

This is the first garment Pirkie and I made together. I love her. She’s my new BFF. She is so quiet, Andrew couldn’t even hear her running from 12 feet away. When you live in a shoebox, that’s important.

These are what Pirkie calls perfectly balanced buttonholes. They are perfectly balanced and they were, I dare say, a pleasure to create.

Pirkie also sewed the buttons on for me. I never used my other machine for this because she just made me nervous. I did break a needle doing this with Pirkie, but that was totally my fault. The buttons are from the Mimi button stash I inherited. It took some doing to find four of them, but I finally did it.

I had a light bulb moment and used these super ugly gold buttons for the elastic. I don’t know why I’ve been digging out the nice clear ones for this job. No one will ever see them.

So it’s safe to say that I’m in love with my new sewing machine. She is dreamy, for sure.

Leave a Reply

