balsamic garlic pork tenderloin

Like the originator of this recipe, I am a sucker for pork tenderloin. Short of over-cooking, it’s pretty much impossible to mess one up. It’s also the most popular cut of meat at our neighborhood grocery store, so I usually have to settle for a prepackaged, already marinated one. (Which is not to say that those aren’t delicious too.) I was so excited this week when the butcher came out from the back victoriously holding some tenderloins when I asked for one.

Ingredients

  • 4-5 garlic cloves, finely minced or crushed
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • pork tenderloins (about 1¼ pounds)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
The recipe was meant for grilling, but provides an oven option as well, which was my chosen route. You simply make a paste/marinade with the garlic, vinegar, salt and pepper, and coat the pork with it. Then brown each side in an oil-coated pan and roast in a 400-degree oven. I used some extra vinegar to deglaze the pan and make a bit of sauce that I poured over before putting in the oven. Yep, this one’s a winner. 

Never one to forget my greens (ha!) I made Parmesan Crumbed Asparagus to go with. All you do is dredge the spears in half a cup of flour, then a beaten egg, then coat with a mixture of a half-cup of parmesan and a half-cup of bread crumbs. The recipe tells you to fry them and I wish I could tell you that health concerns stopped me. But honestly I didn’t want the hassle of standing over the stove, so I baked them. Still yummy.

One thought on “balsamic garlic pork tenderloin

Leave a Reply

