lemon brown sugar chicken

Like most families I guess, chicken is our fall-back meal. A default. It’s easy to get tired of it, especially since it’s also very easy to make bland chicken. Making it really great (see this post) usually takes a while. So I was tickled to find this recipe for Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken on the Espresso & Cream blog.

Ingredients:
*1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
*Juice of one large lemon
*1 tablespoon lemon zest
*1 cup flour
*2 teaspoons paprika
*1 teaspoon sea salt
*1 1/2 tablespoons canola oil
*2 tablespoons brown sugar

You pound out the chicken a bit, then combine the dry ingredients and dust the chicken with the mixture. Then brown them in an oil-coated pan. Set them in a casserole dish and use the lemon juice to deglaze the pan, pouring over the chicken. Then sprinkle with the zest and brown sugar before baking at 350 degrees.

Maybe it was just my loser lemon, but I didn’t think there was nearly enough juice. It pretty much evaporated when it hit the pan. Next time I’ll juice two or three lemons instead. Other than that, this recipe is a definite winner. Don’t be put off by the sugar; it’s very subtle.

To go with the chicken I made my famous-to-me roasted new potatoes. They are a culinary adventure every time, since I just grab things from the spice cabinet and sprinkle it on. I always use salt and pepper, and this time added paprika, cumin and I think oregano. It doesn’t matter – potatoes are forgiving like that.

Leave a Reply

