Identity Crisis

We live fairly close to Atlanta Fire Department Station 15 and see their engine, dubbed The Night Train, quite often. Turtle loves it, and always waves to the firemen on board. For at least the past month, she has told me that she will be a firefighter for Halloween. Not being one to get caught up in gender roles, I really wanted to be supportive of her costume choice. But I’m ashamed to say that the first thing I thought was that firefighter costumes are just … not cute.

The passive-aggressive champion that I am, I declared that I wasn’t going to sew a drab firefighter coat and that we would purchase it instead. So we went over to the Halloween store that opened down the street in the now-vacant Borders bookstore space. I chose a firefighter costume pack from the wall and Turtle, puzzled, looked at the little boy in the picture and said she wanted “a girl one.” I told her that this was all there was, and I could see the wheels turning as she realized, just like I’d known all along, that firefighter costumes just aren’t cute. At least not in her sense of the word.

So we took a look around the place for inspiration, and found it right away. Minnie Mouse. With her pink polka-dotted dress, pink shoes and big bows. This was a costume my Turtle could really get behind. I wasn’t about to pay $20 for a scratchy polyester concoction and got to work on something better.

The Puppet Show dress is almost exactly like the one Minnie wears in her latest incarnation. (I was much inspired by Jan’s Snow White dress as well.) Sometimes Minnie dresses in red and originally I believe it was blue, but hello… this is Turtle we’re talking about and only pink will do. In fact, I’ve noticed that a lot of Disney characters wear this style dress, with a few variations. Aside from the serious issues with gender stereotypes and the roles of women in their movies, these people need to get with it on the fashion.

I made a little bow pin to attach, although I can’t figure out a good spot for it. It looks a bit haphazard here.

Practice truly makes perfect. My first Puppet Show hem facing looked nowhere near this good.

Of course, it wouldn’t be Minnie Mouse without the ears. Sparkly ears that is. Now we’re talking.

2 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

  1. Thank you for the inspiration! I am going to make this for my two year old. She will love it!!!! I love making O + S patterns and share your sentiment about the scratchy polyester ones at the store!

Leave a Reply

