control freak much?

I made my own birthday cake last weekend. As I told my mom, that’s the only way I could be sure it was to be done to my specifications. Yes, I am a control freak.

Since I share a birthday (four days apart) with my husband, I opted for a cake to suit his tastes, which are very vanilla – literally.

I stumbled on the Sweetapolita blog a while back and I’m so glad I did. There are so many cakes to choose from, and the best part is that because she’s a professional baker, the frosting amounts are huge! That’s what I’m talkin about.

This particular recipe is unique in that instead of adding the dry ingredients to creamed butter and sugar, the dry ingredients go into the bowl first. The eggs, vanilla and a portion of the milk are mixed separately and added in three parts.

I thought it came together really well.

Now, the frosting. I have creamed butter many, many times but I never knew what “pale and fluffy” really meant until I was told to cream butter for eight minutes.

This is 100% butter.

And once the sugar is added you’ve got a bowl of creamy sugary goodness.

Now, would I choose this cake? No, but that’s not its fault. It really is lovely. If you, like my husband, like all things vanilla, this will likely be your new favorite cake.

Leave a Reply

