santa claus is comin’ to town

Fortunately, we have the option in Atlanta to visit a Santa who takes appointments. Now, before you judge this as something for 1 percenters who think they’re too good to wait for Santa, I must tell you that when I was a kid we spent HOURS in line waiting to see him. And it sucked big time. With this system you make an appointment a couple months in advance and literally walk right up and talk to him at your appointed time and date. I wrote in the comments section of a local news article last year about how awful it is to wait in line with a toddler and another reader said that, being a good parent (in contrast to my obviously bad parenting), her children were well behaved and she would love to wait in line with them for hours. Sorry, but I’m calling bull$hit on that one lady.

I got the short end of the stick though with my appointment choices and had to get going on a holiday dress sooner than I had expected. I knew that I was going to make a School Photo Dress because it is a pattern that really does make for an excellent photo. That ruffled collar just kills me.

Going back to standard time has really put a crimp in my after-work photo sessions so these crappy cell phone photos have to do for now. Darkness at 5:30pm is not cool. I just couldn’t wait to share.

Stella and her cousin have gone to see Santa together for the past couple of years. Last year Stella was frozen in shock and Viv was screaming. This year, they chatted that jolly man up like nobody’s business. We wrote out their lists and Santa read from the lists asking, “Who wants a firetruck?” Stella raised her hand and said, “Me, I do!”

She was more excited about this dress than anything I’ve made yet. She changed out of her school clothes at school and had to show all her classmates before we left. She calls it her “fancy dress.” She picked out the polka dot accent and lining fabric, and I have to admit that it is much better than the more staid green polka dot I initially chose. When we met the rest of the family, she showed everyone and asked, “Who made your dress Viv?” Sniff, so proud.

Leave a Reply

