fairest of them all

I have a visitor at work with me today, helping out. She has looked over the calendar,

chosen the day’s playlists,

and enjoyed coffee and a bagel.

She is the fairest of them all, Snow White, and is perhaps the thing I’m most proud of that I’ve ever made. I love her so much, I don’t know if I can turn her over to the intended recipient on Christmas morning.

I made her using the Kit, Chloe and Louise pattern from Wee Wonderfuls. If ever I had trouble with “softies” before, Snow White made up for it.

Of course, the Snow White-est part of the whole thing are the signature sleeves, which I made using the lovely Jan’s instructions. Mine are not nearly as pretty as hers, but I will chalk that up to their teeny tinyness.

The dress has six (yes, six) pintucks on the front. And I added the collar from another dress.

And how about my embroidery?! Amazing what you can do when you take your time and prepare.

I also added a red headband, made with satin ribbon. The hair was definitely the most challenging part of this whole project. It is made up of two “wigs” and stitched on strategically. To make her “curls,” you braid the yarn, wet it and let it air dry. It’s more kinky than curly, but that’s fine because it looks a lot like my hair on any given day.

Her red felt shoes have tiny little (non functioning) buttons on the side.

I’m not getting my hopes up that Snow White will become Stella’s favorite doll, to be cuddled, carted around and snuggled with every night. The tastes of my 3-year-old are fickle at best. But if she’s not impressed, I know someone who needs an office companion.

2 thoughts on “fairest of them all

  1. I took sewing my senior year of college because I fell in love with a brand of dolls called Little Souls. I wanted to make my own dolls. Sadly, I never did. Love yours!

  2. Really cute. I am crushing the same way on a little angelina ballerina doll I made for my girls for Christmas. Now I want to make two more. One for the youngest and one for me!

Leave a Reply

