a splash of color

I’ve been a fan of Jay McCarroll’s since his Project Runway days. As a matter of fact, when I think of PR he and Austin are the first names that come to mind. That first season, I was obsessed. Remember that corn husk dress Austin made?! When Jay released his Habitat fabric line for Free Spirit I fell in love with him all over again. I made a Jump Rope Dress with his charcoal polka dots, and coveted pretty much every other print from that line as well.
And when I discovered the Peony dress, it spoke to me: make me in DROPCLOTH. And who I am to argue with talking sewing patterns? Because that’s weird.

You might think that a fabric intentionally made to look like a house painter’s trash wouldn’t involve much fussy cutting. But I did want to ensure I didn’t center one of big splotches on my, um, rear. That would be awkward. So while the way I cut it does look a little weird, I think the alternative would be worse!

You can’t see it all that well in this photo, but there is a faint little streak running across my collar bone. Every time I look in the mirror I think it’s a wrinkle and try to smooth it. Oh well, you can’t predict everything I guess.

Because I love this fabric so much I didn’t want to ruin it with a poorly fitting dress, and I made up a muslin. Murphy’s Law kicked in, and my weight changed between then and the real thing. I should have thought about this. I did not. So my Dropcloth Peony is a little big. Best laid plans, etc., etc. It’s roomy enough for all my needs though:

9 thoughts on “a splash of color

  1. I've since copied your idea. Yours was probably my favorite Peony of all time. I'm planning on wearing my drop cloth peony to Easter ( and be ready for all the jokes about spilling egg dye on myself!).

Leave a Reply

