breakfast of champions

Andrew and I spent Spring Break in Key West two years in a row when we were in college. We stayed in a bed and breakfast that introduced me to a little thing called chocolate chip muffins. Basically just an un-frosted cupcake, I personally think they are one of modern cooking’s greatest inventions, because if eating chocolate for breakfast can be justified in any way, I’m totally down with that.

I didn’t spend much time looking for a recipe, which is how I landed on the Food Network site. I normally don’t make many Food Network chefs’ recipes because they just don’t turn out well for me. But I do love Nigella Lawson, and commenters have taken the time to post their changes and improvements to the original recipe. The version I used can only loosely be credited to Ms. Lawson since there are several changes. Credit really is due to commenter TiffanyCM in L.A., and boy she does some fine work.

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 3 tablespoons best quality cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, plus 1/4 cup for sprinkling
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Method:
Preheat over to 350 degrees.

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl, then stir into dry ingredients. Don’t mix too much; lumpy batter is best. Spoon into lined muffin tins. (I did not use liners with my silicone pan and they stuck a little bit.) Sprinkle remaining chocolate chips on top.

Bake for 20 minutes. Do not over bake or they’ll be dry.

They were just perfect.

In other news, my 3-year-old darling daughter has started posing when I take her picture. For her, posing is cocking her head to one side and sticking out her hip. Hilarious. Also very scary.

Leave a Reply

