impulse buy

In a fit of Mad Men-induced hysteria I purchased a vintage pattern on eBay this morning. It was only $12 so I don’t feel too bad.

It is Simplicity 4930 and I bought it because I read about Julia Bobbin’s Mad Men Dress Challenge. I knew immediately what I would make. In the Season 4 finale, Tomorrowland, Megan wears a gorgeous white dress with what looks like painted flowers on the skirt. This video clip was the only image of it I could find.

I love me some Joan, but this dress is so me. Now, will I actually make this? We’ll see. I hate, hate, hate working with “traditional” patterns so I can only imagine what working with a pattern printed in 1960 would be like.

Does anyone have experience working from vintage patterns? Anything I should know?

One thought on “impulse buy

Leave a Reply

