little dress on the prairie

I’ve said before that I’m not big on tiny floral prints, even going so far as to eschew the luxurious Liberty brand. It’s just not my thing. But I have seen some lovely Swingset Tunics made up in these prints in the Flickr pool and thought I would step outside my comfort zone. I found this lawn/voile at a local shop and grabbed it.

I was totally into it until I saw the finished product. I lengthened it by about 3 inches or so since my darling daughter will only wear dresses. Maybe it’s the length that throws me off, but it just looks a little “prairie” for my tastes.

I did use a new technique to finish the edge of the facing, which bothered me in the previous one I made. Per a tip from the Flickr pool, I used bias binding to enclose the edge. Much better.

Stella loves it and wore it immediately, so that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

