burda pants

I have never made a Burda pattern that turned out well. I don’t know what it is, but I have some kind of curse against me when it comes to these. The lounge pants I made today are no exception.

The only good thing I can say about them is that they’re comfortable. I made them in the evening, which was my first mistake, because I’m always distracted and hurrying to finish. From there, it was all downhill.

I attached one pocket to the ankle instead of the hip, and proceeded to work on it for 30 minutes getting it just right before I realized it was in the wrong place. I put the waistband on wrong so that the drawstring is on the inside.

See?

I find Burda instructions and techniques downright bizarre. The one pocket that I did put in sticks out and looks ridiculous.

I will make another pair because I hate this feeling that I wasted my time and money and I do like the design of the satin waistband. I’ll use a heavier weight knit, skip the pockets and stock up on patience.

 

2 thoughts on “burda pants

  1. We all have days like that. Just last week I was wrestling with the cuffs on the O + S music class blouse. Then my machine wouldn't sew nice buttonholes. I too want to make another blouse just so I don't feel like that pattern conquered me. They do look comfy though. And I always say I sew with the sun and knit with the moon.

  2. They don't look as bad as you might think. The pocket is a little funky but the fit looks perfect and I love the satin waistband. You might want to try it with a firmer knit. I'd love to see the outcome on a different pair when you're not so distracted and rushed. It could make all the difference.

Leave a Reply

