chipotle white beans

I prepared my family for this meal last night by warning them it was something “a little different” than we’re used to. Stella was patently unimpressed, but Andrew had two helpings so I think that says something. I’ve not made/eaten meat for almost three weeks now, so the same goes for my roommates, at least at dinner time. This doesn’t always go over very well, as evidenced by Andrew’s non-comments on what I’ve made, followed up by a bowl of instant oatmeal.

The decision to go meatless is not based on any particular moral/ethical issues, but is really just a personal challenge and a way to get me to go outside my comfort zone. My list of “acceptable” vegetables has been limited to beans, potatoes and corn for most of my life, and that’s just not any way for a grown-up to live.

That said, I branched out with these Chipotle White Beans and for the most part I thought they were delicious. They include a cilantro pesto, and even though I have a deep hatred for cilantro I included it anyway. You know, trying new things and all. I won’t do that next time.

Chipotle White Beans
adapted slightly from 101 Cookbooks
serves 6
WW points 8

1 pound white beans (obviously a high-quality dried bean is preferable, but I used canned and they were fine)

Chipotle-tomato sauce:
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 big pinches of red pepper flakes
2 pinches of salt
1 large clove garlic, chopped
1 14-ounce can fire-roasted tomatoes
1 tablespoon fresh oregano leaves
1 1/2 tablespoons adobo sauce from a can of chipotle peppers

Cilantro Pesto:
1 medium clove of garlic
1/3 cup fresh cilantro
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
big pinch of salt

2/3 cup kale or chard, washed, de-stemmed, and very finely chopped (I ran it through the food processor)
1 cup queso fresco or feta cheese (I used feta)

1 1/2 cup whole-grain breadcrumbs

*See Heidi’s post on this recipe for instructions on how to prepare dried beans, which you would do first and foremost. 

For the tomato sauce, put olive oil, red pepper, salt and garlic into a cold medium saucepan and saute while the pan heats up. Don’t let the garlic get brown. Add the tomatoes and oregano and heat to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir in the adobo sauce. Set aside.

To make the pesto, combine the cilantro and garlic in a food processor and slowly add the oil, finishing with some salt at the end. 

Preheat the oven to 425F degrees. Combine the beans with the tomato sauce and kale in a casserole dish. Cover with the cheese and bake for about 25-30 minutes. A few minutes before removing from the oven, sprinkle the bread crumbs and let them brown in the oven. 

Leave a Reply

