simplicity 4930, vintage

I bought this pattern on eBay a year ago in a burst of Mad Men inspiration. It has sat unloved in my sewing area since then, with nary a second thought, once the initial sexiness of the idea wore off. Then my sister sent me an image making the Pinterest rounds from a lovely blog called Naughty Shorts, where she makes lovely sweet dresses from vintage fabrics.

The design was a dead ringer for Simplicity 4930 so finally, it came to life. I suggested a larger scale floral as I thought the ditzy floral look might be a little too twee.

She chose this beautiful Art Gallery print and I think it works wonderfully! Worn here with the pink sash I made for my Valentine Peony.

It was our niece Eloise's first birthday and we couldn't have scripted a more beautiful day. The dress is shorter than the pattern drawing, and I also altered the way the skirt goes on because the pattern is just weird, if you ask me. I think if you were so inclined, it would be cute with a crinoline for a fuller look.

So finally, my purchase is justified.

 

Leave a Reply

