ruffled halters

Several weeks ago I attempted a Burda dress that put the final nail in the coffin between that company and me. Those patterns just don’t work for me, no matter how hard I try. What is it they say about the definition of insanity? However, I ordered a ton of really gorgeous lemon yellow Swiss dot fabric for it that I’m still using. To wit,

DSC_0130I haven’t made an Oliver + S Ruffled Halter in a few years, but we’re going to the beach next week so I thought it would be a good time to make some more.

DSC_0132That open back just kills me. It looks so grown up.

DSC_0149I also used up some Dear Stella fabric that I had. I didn’t have enough for the whole thing – this pattern actually uses a good bit of fabric and it’s hard to make do with leftovers – so the front under the ruffles is plain orange Kona.

DSC_0159We had a great time this evening in the grass, getting eaten alive by mosquitoes. It will be a miracle if I escape this summer without West Nile Virus. A summer of intense rain + a property that’s mostly shaded = mosquito paradise.

DSC_0161Stella also did some light reading. It’s pretty funny actually – anytime she wants to “read” she picks this book. Who knows…

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

