hiatus

There’s been no sewing around here since the beginning of August, thus the blog silence. Instead, we’ve been focusing some attention on home improvement and other things around the house. I made the mistake of browsing real estate listings in our neighborhood and … yeah … we won’t be buying a new house anytime soon. So I figured we should work on this one a little.

We got a new couch and desk, and I’ve got a plethora of projects left to tackle this year. One little thing we did this weekend was spruce up the lighting in Stella’s room.

IMG_0469I got these paper IKEA lanterns when we moved here six years ago. They are seriously like $1 each.

Stella got this awesome book from one of her friends for her last birthday – it includes a project with just this kind of paper lantern and she’s been wanting to do it for some time now.

IMG_0473So we got some tissue paper and glue and went to work.

IMG_0471Pretty cute for a 30-minute project. The tissue held up a lot better than I expected; I thought it would tear really easily but it didn’t at all.

I did manage to order some fabric a few days ago and I hope I’m back at the sewing table next week.

Leave a Reply

