easter scirocco

I didn’t intend for this to be an Easter dress. I mean, I don’t suppose a backless dress can ever be anything *but* fancy, but I didn’t set out to use fine materials for An Occasion.

13950921453_cdfe83a369_o

 

However, I discovered that Fabric Mart sells J. Crew fabrics. Yeah, that’s dangerous. So I ended up with four cuts of cotton/silk voile that to my horror requires dry cleaning.

13927748081_79987c4651_o

It is gorgeous fabric. The pattern on the skirt is vaguely oceanic but not literally so. I usually do rolled hems on the serger for those flounces, but my machine decided to revolt against this idea. I worked on it for an hour before I gave up. The resulting folded hem is not ideal, as you can see, but my sanity was more important at the time.

13950926643_452a7c3b78_o (1)

I continue to adore this dress pattern. It is seriously one of my favorite things to sew, every time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

