quilts: complete

I learned a lot about myself and a lot about quilting whilst making these two beauties. Namely, I learned that quilting sucks.

photo

Just kidding. It’s just a lot of work. I don’t have the patience or attention span for projects that last weeks. It was quite satisfying to watch them come together though. Stella even helped piece some of the triangles.

photo2

I intended to do everything by machine, but my stupidity won out and I had to finish the binding by hand because of a mistake in calculating the width of the backing. The back is Riley Blake Swiss Dots on White in Black and the front/binding includes Free Spirit Designer Solids in coral pink, Arctic white, black, candy, bittersweet and apricot, along with Laura Gunn Painter’s Canvas in gray. I actually used the wrong side of the Painter’s Canvas; once I got it lined up beside the others it was a little bit too dark on the right side. All fabrics are from Hawthorne Threads.

photo3

I think it goes without saying that the Smithsonian is not going to come knocking any time soon to put my quilts in an exhibition of American textile art. But they were made with love, which I guess is the whole point.

 

**The pattern for this quilt is by Kate @ See Kate Sew.**

 

Leave a Reply

